British Mountain Marathon Series and Championship launch

February 2017: This news article is no longer factually accurate – the ‘Series’ and ‘Championship’ have since been simplified into just ‘Championship’.


January 2017 marks the launch of the first British Mountain Marathon Series and Championship through a new website

2017 British Series badge   2017 British Championship badge

The British Mountain Marathon Series and Championship are being supported by Marmot Dark Mountains™, the LAMM and ROC Mountain Marathon™ (formerly known as the Rab Mountain Marathon), and the driving force behind this initiative is Shane Ohly from Ourea Events.



Shane Ohly (right) and Duncan Archer (left) – OMM Elite winners 2016. Read Shane’s account of the OMMPhoto © ‘Richard Else – Adventure Show Productions


Ohly is uniquely placed as the organiser of various Mountain Marathon events, and multiple Elite winner. He said, “Mountain Marathons have been truly rich and life affirming experiences for me and I am passionate about ensuring these events have a vibrant long-term future”. Continuing, “The aim of is to inspire and motivate greater participation in Mountain Marathon events and provide a  sense of progression, with Score, C, B, A and Elite course winners, and separate Youth categories.”


LAMM Organiser, Martin Stone said, “We are delighted that Shane has invited the LAMM to be part of the 2017 British Series and we hope that the Series will increase participation across all Mountain Marathon events.  We also hope that it will encourage youngsters to get involved and develop skills that allow them to enjoy travelling light and fast across the mountains”.


Mountain Marathon control found


At their heart, Mountain Marathons have a strong ethos of participant responsibility in the mountains, and they can be challenging experiences, but many participants return to again and again. Each event in the British Series and British Championship has courses suitable for novice through to Elite participants, including youth categories.


Steve Birkinshaw, the undisputed king of mountain mountain events for many years added his support to the new British Series and British Championship, “I have been competing in Mountain Marathons for over 30 years and they are brilliant format taking you out running and navigating through some of Britain’s most beautiful and wildest places. This is a great initiative that hopefully will encourage more people to experience the pleasure and pain of these amazing events.”


The 2017 British Series will be decided across three Mountain Marathons, which include Marmot Dark Mountains (28-29th January 2017), the LAMM (3-4th June 2017) and the ROC Mountain Marathon (23-24th September 2017).


Night time navigation at Marmot Dark Mountains 2016


The 2017 British Championship will be held at the ROC Mountain Marathon on the weekend of 23rd-24th September. The ROC Mountain Marathon was formerly known as the Rab Mountain Marathon.


Full details of the British Mountain Marathon Series and Championship are available on this website.




Contact Us

Feel free to send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt